Monday, 21 August 2017

Book review : Rain Falls on Everyone - Clár Ní Chonghaile


Last year, I discovered author Clár Ní Chonghaile when I read her debut novel, Fractured - you can click through for my review of that book. It turned out to be an edgy, thought-provoking read set in Somalia, so I had no idea what would be hiding behind her latest enigmatic title, Rain Falls on Everyone.

I soon discovered that it is a tale of two cities, or more precisely two countries, both of which come together in the central character of Theo. He has picked up the Dublin accent and even learnt to speak Gaelic but just one look at his black skin marks him out as an outsider for the locals. He is, and always has been, struggling to create a new identity and put his past, escaping from the genocide in his native Rwanda, behind him.

The story begins with Theo fleeing from a scene where a man lies in a pool of blood - we don't know why or what has happened but the impression is given that it's not really his fault. There are obvious parallels with the apocalyptic scenes that he witnessed as a child - his nightmares reveal glimpses of his family being butchered without ever letting him see the complete picture. Theo's predicament is left unexplained and the story shifts back in time, showing how he came to be involved in the whole sorry tale.

As the reader follows the unfolding backstory, Theo is on his own voyage of self-discovery, as sights, sounds and smells appeal to his innermost memories, unexpectedly unlocking snatches of his past life and helping him to piece together his story (and history). For him to create a meaningful future for himself, he has to first come to terms with his past.

As with Fractured, the characters are complex and realistically multi-dimensional, with both good and bad sides to their personalities. Theo has had a horrific, tragic start to his life so it is easy to feel sorry for him, but you also want to condemn him for getting in with the wrong crowd and throwing away his new chance of happiness with petty drug-dealing. Even the villains of the tale have moments of poignancy and humanity, and you can understand, without ever condoning, the actions that they have felt forced to carry out due to the momentum of their lives.

There are only a few graphic scenes of violence described to portray the Rwandan massacre, but they are sufficient to give you an idea of the horrors that went on. It's a gritty, poignant tale, with characters that will stay with you long after you have turned the final page.

star rating : 4.5/5

RRP : £8.99

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Legend Press (15 July 2017)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1785079018
  • ISBN-13: 978-1785079016



Disclosure : I received a review copy of the book.

Ravensburger Disney Castle 3d Puzzle review


This year, Disneyland Paris is celebrating its 25th anniversary, but if you're not lucky enough to have a cross-channel trip on the cards, Ravensburger have the perfect way to bring a little of the Disney magic into your own home, courtesy of their fabulous 3d Disney Castle puzzle.


It looks like it will be very complicated to put together and when you open the box, there are a daunting number of pieces to deal with.


However, once you take a closer look, many of the larger plastic parts are easily identifiable as turrets and roofs, so it all starts making more sense.


The full colour instruction booklet shows you exactly what to put where, and gives you the most logical place to start. From there on, it's all plain sailing.


There aren't a huge number of actual puzzle pieces to put together - 216 to be precise - so the first job is creating the panels, using the plastic puzzle pieces that you will instantly recognise if you've already tried a Ravensburger 3d puzzle. They are numbered on the back with an arrow to show which direction the next piece goes in, and some of them are hinged, so putting them together is child's play.


It will soon start taking shape as you slot the different sections into the plastic base.


More plastic pieces slot on top of the puzzle sections to give it extra stability, so you can move it around or even pick it up without worrying about it all falling apart.


The attention to details, such as the portcullis, make it look extra special.


We found the trickiest part was the assembly of the turrets and towers, because the curved strips need to be slotted in between two plastic rings which is a bit fiddly and they keep falling over. They look fantastic when you've managed though.


The finished castle is truly magnificent and we were very proud of our finished work. It only took about an hour to put together so it's a great family project for a wet weekend.


The castle features a whole host of Disney characters from a wide variety of films - there are 116 for you to try to spot, and you can even make a game of it, challenging each other to locate a specific person or making a list of as many different characters as possible in one minute.


Unsurprisingly, in pride of place on the front balcony, are Mickey, Minnie and their closest friends. It's a fitting tribute for such a special pair in their anniversary year !



Disclosure : We received the product in order to write an honest review.

Sunday, 20 August 2017

Sun-Pat Fuelling Families this summer


This summer, Sun-Pat have been busy Fuelling Families, not just with their peanut butter but also with their fabulous competition, offering families the chance to win one of 420 sports kits to help keep kids busy and active. The competition is running until 4th September and there will be ten lucky winners every day until then.


Each kit comes with a football, cricket set and skipping rope and is packaged in a convenient bag so you can throw it in the back of the car and have a great sports-themed day out at the park or on the beach.


We received one of the kits and I thought Pierre would be first to grab it, but Juliette got in first ! She was soon bending it like Beckham (well, she did her best anyway !).


She had great fun with the skipping rope and showed that she was actually pretty good at it.


She also enjoyed playing with the cricket set and even developed her own hybrid game of cricket and tennis when I was busy taking the photos and stopped bowling !


Sun-Pat have also launched an activity guide featuring 42 cheap or free activities for kids over the summer – an activity for each day of the holidays. If you're starting to get stuck for ideas of ways to keep the kids entertained and away from their screens for the remainder of the holidays, it's well worth a look. Research has shown that 85% of kids wish they spent more time outside over the holidays so they will almost definitely be up for it, and there are plenty of activities that the grown-ups will enjoy getting involved in too !

Here are some of our favourites :

Create a set of bug bingo cards featuring garden bugs like ladybirds, ants and woodlice. Challenge the kids to find them in the garden to complete the set.

Create a rock zoo! Collect unusual shaped rocks and use watercolour paints to turn them into a variety of animals, arranging them in different pens in the garden.

Visit a local pick-your-own fruit farm and use your pickings to create a tasty summer dessert – if you don’t eat them all on the way home!

Choose a favourite toy and take it on a summer adventure, taking a shot of it in as many places as possible to create a travelling toy diary!

Make the most of a rainy day by laying out blankets on the floor and having a picnic inside for a change – try Sun-Pat and Banana sarnies as a great picnic lunch.

For both the competition and the activity guide, head over to the Sun-Pat Fuelling Families website.

Disclosure : We received a Sun-Pat sports kit.

#MySundayphoto #SundaySnap 20/8/17


Twilight reflections of our hotel pool in Fethiye, Turkey

OneDad3GirlsSunday Snap

Saturday, 19 August 2017

This month's Kitchen Trotter destination : The United Plates of America !


I wasn't sure whether to be excited or disappointed when I discovered that this month's culinary voyage would be to America. I love trying out the American classics but they're all pretty well known, so I was worried they would all be things I'd cooked before. I have discovered some lesser known, regional American dishes here on the blog already, such as Hoppin' John Collards from South Carolina or Minnesotan Hotdish, but it would be too easy to fall into the trap of reducing Stateside cuisine to burgers, hot dogs and mac & cheese. Would Kitchen Trotter do me proud or fall into the tourist clichés trap?


Well, the first three items that I pulled out of the box are all things that I generally have in the cupboards anyway - peanut butter, Worcester sauce and cranberry sauce - but to be fair, they are all things that I pick up in England that are fairly exotic to French people.


Snack attack time ! Some bright orange tasty cheese popcorn and a bag of honey mustard & onion pretzel pieces were next out of the box.


 There was also a bag of cheesecake mix and, as this month's bonus gadget, a colour-in map of New York City, which will come in handy at school. I thought this month's box seemed a little sparse and sure enough, there was one product missing from the box - a bag of sloppy joe spice mix, which they're sending to me.

 OK, so what's on the (recipe) cards this month?


The starter (which will be made into a main course with extra veg and potato wedges) is Honey Mustard Pretzel Chicken Tenders. Aha, so that's what the pretzels were for ! This looks right up the Madhouse kids' street.


Next up, Meatloaf. I already know how to make meatloaf - I made a nice meatloaf with a pizza twist recently - but I'll follow their recipe to see if it's better than mine.


The dessert is cranberry topped cheesecake. If it uses cheesecake mix and a jar of cranberry sauce, I think the Madhouse kids will manage to make this one all by themselves !


And finally, Sloppy Joes - another dish I've already mastered, with Garlic Bread Topped Sloppy Joes a semi-regular meal on my menu plans. I never do it the real way in burger buns though, so I'll give it a go and see what we think.

Well, there's not much of a voyage of discovery this month as I was already familiar with all of the dishes, but they all sound like things the whole family will gobble up contentedly so I can't really complain ! As always, I'll be back to share the recipes and finished dishes with you as soon as I've made them. 

In the meantime, don't miss my country-by-country globecooking recipe index for exotic mealtime inspiration. I've already covered 74 countries - I wonder where my wooden spoon will be heading next !

Fab freebies of the week 19/8/2017



Morning all - apologies for the lack of freebie roundups for the past couple of weeks. We were off in Turkey for a fortnight and, as always, I go for a total digital detox and didn't log on to even check my emails, let alone blog, during that time (although I'd scheduled posts to keep the blog ticking over). The downside is, I came home to near on 3000 emails to trawl through - eek !

*************************************

Konfidence sand art competition - All entrants will feature in our Golden Bucket gallery, plus – new for 2017 – ALL entrants who send us their names and addresses will receive a limited edition Golden Bucket Sand Art exhibitors metal badge. The competition is open to all children 8 years of age or under as at 30th September 2017.

@alastairfry We have copies of Prizes Galore magazine, packed with hundreds of #prizes, to give way. Please RT and request a copy. thanks. - he often seems to send them out so might be worth an RT even if they've all apparently gone. I nabbed one last time.

Apply to become a test pilot and get the iGlow Long Lashes Serum absolutely FREE (1000 testers required)

You can also sign up as a product tester for Dr Botanicals

umbertogiannini WANTED: Umberto Giannini Brand Ambassadors! Seeking like minded hair addicts 💁and social media butterflies 🦋to try & test NEW Umberto Giannini products. Interested? DM us to start a chat! 💋x #UmbertoGirls #umbertogiannini #UGonMe

Sign up for a free Orangina Light at Harvester


Claim one of 2,000 sample packs of GLAMGLOW face masks

Get a free pack of Oomi Protein Noodles worth £2.50 with Shopmium


Win one of 1000 full size bottles of Auva cleansing milk over on their facebook page

5,000 lucky savvy circlers will experience Pantene’s latest Micellar water collection. If you’re after gorgeously clean, superbly strong hair without the weight, this is the one for you.

@mevalia_uk  Our products are prescription only & for patients who require a low protein diet for medical reasons. Request samples only if applicable! 💙

@balsajobg We’re starting something new. Every Friday tweet us your fave black garlic recipes using hashtag #blackfriday. Best recipes get free samples

@ogglio Our pleasure! We have already received 15 postcards requesting a FREE sample of our olive oil. Anyone else interested?

You can see previous weeks' freebie roundups by clicking here but be warned, many of the offers are only valid for a short time. Let me know if any have expired and I'll remove them from the roundup.

Friday, 18 August 2017

Book preview & launch competition : The Big Dreams Beach Hotel - Lilly Bartlett


You’re warmly invited to the Wedding of the Century with all your favourite friends. It’s the most vintage fun you’ll have this year!

To WIN a personally inscribed paperback of this gorgeous book by  Lilly Bartlett aka Michele Gorman, simply sign up to her newsletter. Winners will be randomly selected and notified on August 18th via the email used to sign up.

Ermm yes, that's today - I'm very late to this party because I've been away in Turkey for the last fortnight. I bet you didn't even notice I'd gone, thanks to the wonders of modern technology and scheduled posts ! To make up for my belatedness, I do have a lovely sneak peek of the first chapter to share with you though ...


A heartwarming, cosy romance from Sunday Times bestselling author Michele Gorman, now writing as Lilly Bartlett.

This is a brand new standalone novel from the author of the Carlton Square series with a whole new cast of characters to fall in love with!

Wriggle your toes in the sand and feel the warm breeze on your face when you check into the hotel that’s full of dreams…

Three years after ditching her career in New York City, Rosie never thought she’d still be managing the quaint faded Victorian hotel in her seaside hometown.

What’s worse, the hotel’s new owners are turning it into a copy of their Florida properties. Flamingos and all. Cultures are clashing and the hotel’s residents stand in the way of the developers’ plans. The hotel is both their home and their family.

That’s going to make Rory’s job difficult when he arrives to enforce the changes. And Rosie isn’t exactly on his side, even though it’s the chance to finally restart her career. Rory might be charming, but he’s still there to evict her friends.

How can she follow her dreams if it means ending everyone else’s?



Chapter 1

New York is where I fell head over heels for a bloke named Chuck. I know: Chuck. But don’t judge him just because he sounds like he should be sipping ice-cream floats at the drive-in or starring in the homecoming football game. Rah rah, sis boom bah, yay, Chuck!
Believe me, I didn’t plan for a Chuck in my life. But that’s how it happens, isn’t it? One minute you’ve got plans for your career and a future that doesn’t involve the inconvenience of being in love, and the next you’re floating around in full dozy-mare mode.
I won’t lie to you. When Chuck walked into our hotel reception one afternoon in late October, it wasn’t love at first sight. It was lust.
Be still, my fluttering nethers.
Talk about unprofessional. I could hardly focus on what he was saying. Something about organising Christmas parties.
To be honest, I don’t really know what I’m doing,’ he confided as he leaned against the reception desk. His face was uncomfortably close to mine, but by then I’d lived in New York for eighteen months. I was used to American space invaders. They’re not being rude, just friendly. And Chuck was definitely friendly.
I only started my job about a month ago,’ he told me. ‘It’s my first big assignment, so I really can’t fuck it up. Sorry, I mean mess it up.’ His blue (so dark blue) eyes bore into mine. ‘I’m hoping someone here can help me.’
It took all my willpower not to spring over the desk to his aid. Not that I’m at all athletic. I’d probably have torn my dress, climbed awkwardly over and landed face-first at his feet.
Keep him talking, I thought, so that I could keep staring. He looked quintessentially American, with his square jawline and big straight teeth and air of confidence, even though he’d just confessed to being hopeless at his new job. His brown hair wasn’t too long but also wasn’t too short, wavy and artfully messed up with gel, and his neatly trimmed stubble made me think of lazy Sunday mornings in bed.
See what I mean? Lust.
I noticed you on my way back from Starbucks,’ he said.
At first, I thought he meant he’d noticed me. That made me glance in the big mirror on the pillar behind him, where I could just see my reflection from where I was standing. At five-foot four, I was boob-height behind the desk in the gunmetal-grey fitted dress uniform all the front-desk staff had to wear. My wavy dark-red hair was as neat as it ever got. I flashed myself a reflected smile just to check my teeth. Of course, I couldn’t see any detail from where I stood. Only my big horsy mouth. Mum says giant teeth make my face interesting. I think I look a bit like one of the Muppets.
Do you have the space for a big party?’ he said. ‘For around four hundred people?’
He didn’t mean he’d noticed me; only the hotel. ‘We’ve got the Grand Ballroom and the whole top floor, which used to be the restaurant and bar. I think it’s even prettier than the ballroom, but it depends on your style and your budget and what you want to do with it.’
Based on his smile, you’d have thought I’d just told him we’d found a donor kidney for his operation. ‘I’ve been looking online, but there are too many choices,’ he said. ‘Plus, my company expects the world.’ He grimaced. ‘They didn’t like the hotel they used last year, or the year before that. I’m in over my head, to be honest. I think I need a guiding hand.’
I had just the hand he was looking for, and some ideas about where to guide it.
But instead of jumping up and down shouting ‘Pick Me, Pick Me!’, I put on my professional hat and gave him our events brochure and the team’s contact details. Because normal hotel receptionists don’t launch themselves into the arms of prospective clients.
When he reached over the desk to shake my hand, I had to resist the urge to bob a curtsy. ‘I’m Chuck Williamson. It was great to meet you, Rosie.’
He knew my name!
And thank you for being so nice. You might have saved my ass on this one. I’ll talk to your events people.’ He glanced again at my chest.
He didn’t know my name. He’d simply read my name badge.
No sooner had Chuck exited through the revolving door than my colleague, Digby, said, ‘My God, any more sparks and I’d have had to call the fire department.’
Digby was my best friend at the hotel and also a foreign transplant in Manhattan – where anyone without a 212 area code was foreign. Home for him was some little town in Kansas or Nebraska or somewhere with lots of tornadoes. Hearing Digby speak always made me think of The Wizard of Oz, but despite sounding like he was born on a combine harvester, Digby was clever. He did his degree at Cornell. That’s the Holy Grail for aspiring hotelies (as we’re known).
Digby didn’t let his pedigree go to his head, though, like I probably would have.
Just doing my job,’ I told him. But I knew I was blushing.
Our manager, Andi, swore under her breath. ‘That’s the last thing we need right now – some novice with another Christmas party to plan.’
That is our job,’ Digby pointed out.
Your job is to man the reception desk, Digby.’
Ya vol, Commandant.’ He saluted, before going to the other end of the desk.
But we do have room in the schedule, don’t we?’ I asked. Having just come off a rotation in the events department the month before, I knew they were looking for more business in that area. Our room occupancy hadn’t been all the company hoped for over the summer.
Plenty of room, no time,’ Andi snapped.
I’d love to tell you that I didn’t think any more about Chuck, that I was a cool twenty-five-year-old living her dream in New York. And it was my dream posting. I still couldn’t believe my luck. Well, luck and about a million hours earning my stripes in the hospitality industry. I’d already done stints in England and one in Sharm El Sheikh – though not in one of those fancy five-star resorts where people clean your sunglasses on the beach. It was a reasonable four-star one.
There’s a big misconception about hotelies that I should probably clear up. People assume that because we spend our days surrounded by luxury, we must live in the same glamour. The reality is 4a.m. wake-ups, meals eaten standing up, cheap living accommodation and, invariably, rain on our day off. Sounds like a blast, doesn’t it?
But I loved it. I loved that I was actually being paid to work in the industry where I did my degree. I loved the satisfied feeling I got every time a guest thanked me for solving a problem. And I loved that I could go anywhere in the world for work.
I especially loved that last part.
But back to Chuck, who’d been stuck in my head since the minute he’d walked through the hotel door.
I guess it was natural, given that I hadn’t had a boyfriend the whole time I’d been in the city. Flirting and a bit of snogging, yes, but nothing you could call a serious relationship.
There wasn’t any time, really, for a social life. That’s why hotelies hang out so much with each other. No one else has the same hours free. So, in the absence of other options, Digby and I were each other’s platonic date. He sounds like the perfect gay best friend, right? Only he wasn’t gay. He just had no interest in me. Nor I in him, which made him the ideal companion – hot enough in that freckle-faced farm-boy way to get into the nightclubs when we finished work at 1 or 2a.m., but not the type to go off shagging and leave me to find my way home on the subway alone.

I hope you’re happy,’ Andi said to me one morning a few days later. The thing about Andi is that she looks annoyed even when she’s not, so you’ve got to pay attention to her words rather than the severe expression on her narrow face. Nothing annoyed Andi like other people’s happiness.
But I had just taken my first morning sip of caramel latte. Who wouldn’t be happy?
You’ve got another assignment,’ she said. ‘That Christmas party. You’re on it.’
But I’m on reception.’ My heart was beating faster. She could only be talking about one Christmas party.
Yes, and you’re not going to get any extra time for the party, so don’t even think about it. I can’t spare anyone right now. You’ll have to juggle. He’s coming in at eleven to see the spaces and hopefully write a big fat cheque, but I want you back here as soon as you’re finished. Consider it an early lunch break.’
Even though my mind warned me to stop questioning, in case she changed her mind, I couldn’t resist. ‘Why isn’t Events handling it?’
They would have if he hadn’t asked for you especially. It’s just my luck that it’s a huge party. We can’t exactly say no.’
I’m sorry.’
Then wipe that stupid grin off your face and next time try not to be so frickin’ nice.’
I need to use the loo,’ I told her.
Pee on your own time,’ she said.
I didn’t really have to go, despite the industrial-size caramel latte. I just wanted to put on some make-up before Chuck arrived. Instead he’d see my green eyes unhighlighted by the mascara and flicky eyeliner that I rarely remembered to use. Pinching my cheeks did bring up a bit of colour behind my freckles, at least.
Every time the revolving doors swung round, I looked up to see if it was Chuck.
You’re going to get repetitive strain in your neck,’ Digby pointed out. ‘And you know our workmen’s comp sucks, so save yourself the injury. Besides, you look too eager when you stare at the door like that.’
I’m putting on a convivial welcome for our guests,’ I said. ‘Just like it says in the Employee’s Manual.’
He shook his head. ‘There’s no way that what you’re thinking is in the manual.’
The weather had turned cold, which was the perfect excuse for woolly tights and cosy knits or, if you were Chuck, a navy pea coat with the collar turned up that made him look like he’d been at sea. In a suit and dress shoes.  
I’m so sorry I’m late,’ he said. ‘I hate wasting people’s time.’
It’s not a waste,’ I told him. ‘I’m just working.’ I caught Andi’s glare. ‘I mean, I’m on reception. I can show you the rooms any time you want.’
Anytime you want, Digby mimicked behind Chuck’s back. Luckily Andi didn’t catch him.
Thanks for agreeing to take on the party,’ he said as we shared the lift to the top floor. ‘Not that I gave your colleagues much of a choice. I told them I’d book the party if you were the one organising it. I hope you don’t mind. It’s just that you seemed … I don’t know, I got a good feeling about you.’
No, that’s fine,’ I said, willing my voice to sound calmer than I felt. Which meant anything short of stark raving mad. ‘Once you decide which room is most suitable, we can start talking about everything else.’
I knew you’d get it,’ he said.
The lift doors opened on the top floor into the wide entrance to the former restaurant. ‘As you can see, there’s still a lot of the original nineteen thirties decor,’ I said. ‘Especially these art deco wall sconces. I love them. Ooh, and look at that bar.’
I’d only been up there a few times, so I was as excited as Chuck as we ran around the room pointing out each interesting feature, from the geometrically mirrored pillars to the sexy-flapper-lady light fixtures.
I’m such a sucker for this old stuff,’ he said. ‘I grew up in a house full of antiques. Older than this, actually, in Chicago.’ Then he considered me. ‘You probably grew up in a castle from the middle ages or something, being English.’
That sounds draughty. No, my parents live in a nineteen fifties semi-detached with pebble-dash.’
I don’t know what any of that means except for the nineteen fifties, but it sounds exotic.’
Hardly. Let’s just say it looks nothing like this. Will this be big enough, though? You said up to four hundred. That might be a squeeze if we want to seat them all.’
My guest list has halved, actually,’ he said, shoving his hands into his coat pockets. ‘The company isn’t letting spouses and partners come. Isn’t that weird, to exclude them from a formal social event like that? It’s going to be black tie with dinner and dancing. They were always invited wherever I’ve worked before.’
The painful penny dropped with a clang. Of course he’d have the perfect girlfriend to bring along. A bloke that cute and nice wasn’t single.
Which company?’ I asked, covering my disappointment. ‘Your company now, I mean.’
Flable and Mead. The asset managers? Sorry, I should have said before.’
Of course I’d heard of them. They were only one of the biggest firms on Wall Street. No wonder Andi had to say yes when Chuck made his request. We were talking big money.
And big egos. ‘I’m not surprised that other halves aren’t invited,’ I told him. Surely he’d worked out why for himself. ‘They usually aren’t invited in the UK either. The Christmas do is your chance to get pissed and snog a colleague.’
Chuck laughed. ‘I’m really glad I’ve seen all those Hugh Grant movies so I know what you’re talking about. So maybe it’ll be everyone’s chance at Flable and Mead to snog a colleague too.’ When he smiled, a dimple appeared on his left side. Just the one. ‘And as you’re working with me to organise the party, I guess that makes you my colleague, right?’
Did he mean what I thought he meant? The cheeky sod. ‘Come on, I’ll show you the ballroom.’
But the ballroom had nowhere near the ambiance of the top floor, and I knew before Chuck said anything that it didn’t have the right feel. Whereas upstairs had character and charm, the ballroom had bling. I’d only known Chuck for a matter of hours, but already I knew he wasn’t the blingy type.
Definitely upstairs,’ he said. ‘So it’s done. We’ll book it. Now we just need to plan all the decorations, the food, the band, DJ. I guess the fee goes up depending on how much in-house stuff we use.’ He laughed. ‘I’m sorry, I really am in too deep here. I talked my way into my job. I have no idea how. My boss is a Northwestern alum like me and that must have swung it for me. Before I only worked organising conferences and a few parties at the local VFW hall. This is the big time.’
I knew exactly how he felt. When I first started at the hotel I had to pinch myself. There I was, about to live a life I’d only seen on telly. All I had to do was not muck things up. Digby had been on hand to show me the ropes when I needed it. So the least I could do for Chuck was to help him as much as I could.
That’s what I told myself. I was paying it forward.
We’ve got a range of decorations we can do,’ I told him, thinking about how much I was going to get to see him in the upcoming weeks. I could really stretch things out by showing him one tablecloth per visit. ‘And we work with a few good catering companies, who I’m sure can arrange anything from a sit-down meal to a buffet. One even does burger bars, if you want something more quirky.’
What I’ll want is for you to help me, Rosie. You will be able to do that, right?’
Of course,’ I said. ‘Whatever you need. It’s a whopping great fee your company is paying. That buys a lot of hand-holding.’
I was hoping you’d say that,’ he said. ‘The second I came in and saw you, I knew this was the right choice. We’re going to be great together, Rosie.’
I was thinking the exact same thing.


Want to keep reading? The book is available now as an eBook with a special reduced price (1/3 off) for launch day.

for more information :
www.michelegorman.co.uk
Blog: http://michelegormanwriter.blogspot.com
Instagram: @michelegormanuk
Twitter: @MicheleGormanUK
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MicheleGormanBooks

Thursday, 17 August 2017

Brittany diaries : An incredible dolphin encounter


On our last day in Brittany, we popped down to the port of Brest on the way home, to see the Recouvrance, which is a big replica schooner. We decided that the figurehead looked like a mermaid and took a few snaps.


Then we looked out to the harbour entrance and looked at each other in amazement as a big black fin appeared out of the water. My first thought was that it was a shark (a small one, not a Jaws sized man-eating one !) but Juliette squealed "Mum, I just saw a dolphin" ... and she was right ! It came right over to the side of the boat and just sat there. 


According to some of the locals, it was a dolphin that had been injured and rescued by the local sealife centre and, after its release, it keeps coming back to get food and swim around in the harbour.


It's certainly not scared of people, coming right up to the jetty where some of the kids even stroked it, before someone shouted down that you shouldn't touch it because apparently it has parasites (I have no idea what kind). 


Being well-behaved, law-abiding citizens, we stayed up the top and didn't venture on to the jetty that gives access to the boats, because it had a gate that was open but said you weren't allowed down there. 


Then, as lots of people started going down, we followed them. I thought he would be long gone by the time we carefully walked down the wobbly bridge but he stayed there for ages.


Eventually someone came along and asked everyone to go back up, then locked the gate, but not before we'd taken loads of photos and heard it clicking, splashing and blowing water out of the hole in the top of its head.


The kids were totally mesmerised - even the grown-ups thought it was a pretty magical experience, especially as it was so totally unexpected. It was only a spur-of-the-moment decision to go down to the port and we just happened to be there at the right time. 

video

video

It made it even more special that he was free to swim off whenever he wanted but stayed for ages. We watched him for about half an hour, then went to look round a few shops and went to see him again until it started raining. He was still there when we left !


 The perfect end to our week in Brittany.


Country Kids